Lopi Love

Spring is here in northeast Ohio.  This morning was possibly the last morning cold enough to persuade Greg to don his Lopi sweater for a photo shoot.  His is the third and last Lopi of the season to come off my needles after a winter-long jag of Icelandic yoked sweaters.

IMG_1159
No, this is not Greg!  This is Garri from Lopi 34
DSC01162
This is Greg in his Garri.  He likes it!

It all began when my son and daughter-in-law visited Iceland for their honeymoon last October.

They both bought Icelandic yoked sweaters while there.  When they came for Christmas, I drooled over their sweaters.  That pleased them no end because they had brought home Lopi yarn and the pattern book for a Christmas gift for me. Of course, I wanted to make more than the original gift of wool would allow.   The Nordic Store was really quite happy to sell me more yarn to make more than one project.

I got right to work and made Hela for myself.  I think the light green is the only color from the original gift of wool.

image_medium2
Serious close-up of Janet in Hela

I also bought a kit from Helene Magnusson for a baby yoked sweater.

DSC01149
Gillipeysa – so cute!

IMG_1147

I can’t resist this closeup of the buttons.

I’ve been saving buttons for years and it was  satisfying to find coordinating ones in my stash.

 

Finally, Greg liked my Hela so much that he asked for a yoked sweater for himself and Garri is the happy result.

I think I’ll give the Icelandic wool a rest for the next few months while the weather is warm.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Lopi Love

Leave a Reply

