Janet’s Customfit Foyle

 

 

Foyle’s Pullover from Customfit by Amy Herzog delivers on the promise of a sweater that will take me to the grocery store, on a hike, to work, to the library.  But wait, I work in a library and I frequently walk to work!  This sweater has been my go-to sweater this January on the coldest of days.  (I could walk to the grocery as well, but usually have more to carry home than I am willing to tote).

I was sold on the Clara Yarn Shetland 1.0 when it came out last year.  A dk weight, it knits up easily.  100% Shetland wool, it proves to be remarkably soft, but I do wear a cotton knit shirt underneath, not only because of the lace “Arches” pattern, but also because there is scratchiness.  I think that is more than made up for by the toasty warmth of the fiber.

This was my first pattern written by Customfit from the measurements I supplied.  The pattern was true to my specifications and the instructions were clear and concise.  I followed the option to knit it flat and after seaming the shoulders and the side seams, I worked the set-in sleeves top-down with short rows.  For this part, I followed the instructions from Kristenlynnea‘s Knitionary blog post “The Perfect Fit:Sleeves”.  One other item about the fit had me curious.  Amy puts waist darts in the back of this pattern, but not in the front.  I’ve noticed a bit of excess fabric in the fack of many of my sweaters and perhaps this would solve that problem.   Unfortunately, I made the sweater with a slightly loose fit, so the back is still not fitted the way I guess Amy intended.  In fact, if I were to make another, I would shorten it and go for a close fit.

All in all, the Customfit process seems a great way to order a pattern that is designed for you.  Give one a try, being sure that you submit true measurements and that you have carefully considered what kind of fit you want.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

