Unravelled

In October, a friend gave me four skeins of Berroco Denim Silk in my favorite color, green.  I knew immediately that I would make Mina’s Tuxedo Vest from Wendy Barnard’s “Custom Knits”. The twisted stitch provides just enough firmness for the rather drapey silk blend of Denim silk.  But, I had only 4 skeins which was a little short of the yardage required.

What to do, what to do?  I’ve already promised myself not to buy more yarn but to rely on my rather large stash.  Also, since Denim Silk is discontinued, it might be difficult to run down the green #1427.  But, I do have a contrasting color of denim silk that I used for a camisole that I made perhaps 4 or 5 years ago.  Yes, I could do the tuxedo collar and armhole ribbing in the contrasting color and that would solve my problem.

Happily, I worked to the collar and began the ribbing in the contrasting shade.  One skein should be plenty, right?  The 2×2 ribbing and short rows creating the tuxedo collar ate up alot of yardage.  One skein was definitely not enough.  Determined to stick to my stash-busting principles, I searched for another skein.  No luck.  But, the camisole was sitting on my dresser, just begging to be unravelled and reused.  Truth be told, I had wearability problems with that camisole – it drooped the longer I wore it until it was absolutely embarassing.  This was not hard.  I unravelled the whole thing.

camisole unravelling
the camisole undone

I felt so virtuous, reusing this yarn!

Leave a Reply

